Private Archives, 1884-1986 (Fonds)

Archive plan context

Information on identification

Title:Private Archives
Creation date(s):1884 - 1986

Information on context

Archival history:The archives of the League of Nations also include a number of archive groups, called "Private papers".

The term "Private papers" will be taken to mean "archives or papers, which have been subject to private ownership", the legal question of the original ownership being reserved.

These "Private papers" consist either of documents, which were prepared or used by high officials in the performance of or in connection with their functions, and which passed later through the hands of persons outside the Secretariat, or of genuinely private archives. In either case they are included in the League of Nations archives, but they reached them or were returned to them in some "special way" (gift, reintegration, bequest, etc.). They should therefore be set apart. There is, however, a certain analogy between them and the section files of the Secretariat archive group.

Information on content and structure

Contains also:This archive group assembles documents, personal memoirs and records, which were in private possession of either League of Nations officials or consultants to the League of Nations and were incorporated in the Archives of the League of Nations after its liquidation. It includes the papers of: Thanassis Aghnides; Georg Arnhold; International Association of Journalists; Association genevoise pour la SDN; Joseph Louis Avenol; Beyerly; Gabrielle Boisseau; K.A. Chavichvili; René Claparède; Charles de Visscher; Constance Drexel; James Eric Drummond; Estonia/Karl Selter; Nosratdoleh Firuz; Carlos Garcia Palacios; Robert Henri Graf; William Martin Hill; Jan Hostie; International Federation of League of Nations Societies; James Avery Joyce, Esq.; Lecomte; Sean Lester; Alexander Loveday; Louis Hubert Gonzalve Lyautey; Paul Joseph Mantoux; William Martin; René Mayer; Wlodzimierz Moderow; Laura Puffer Morgan; Adrianus Pelt; Nicolas Socrate Politis; T.P. Sevensma; Alfred Silbernagel; Witney Hart Shepardson; Smelter, Trail Tribunal; Royall Tyler; F.M. Van Asbeck; Wurm.


Entries:  Avenol, Joseph (Persons\)

Related units of description

Related units of description:see also:
Administrative Commissions and Minorities Section, 1919-1946 (Sub-Fonds)


End of term of protection:12/31/1986
Permission required:None
Physical Usability:Without limits

URL for this unit of description